The Ngadjuri language lies in the mid north of the state of South Australia. It extends from near Gawler and further north to Burra, Jamestown, Peterborough, Orroroo etc.

Ngadjuri lies east of the Nukunu language, north of the Kaurna language, south of Yadliyawara and west of the Wilyakali language.

AIATSIS id : L.05


Aluri, Alury, Boanawari (term meaning ‘bat people,’ and linked with circumcision; term applied by eastern groups), Burra Burra or Abercrombie group (two names for one group), Doora, Eeleeree, Eura (general term for several groups), Hillary, Hilleri, Manu, Manuley, Manuri (Nganguruku term, means ‘big goanna people’), Manuri (Nukunu term, claimed to mean inland people), Mimbara (name of the northernmost group), Monnoo, Ngadhuri, Ngadjuri (used by AIATSIS), Ngadluri, Ngadyuri, Ngaluri, Ngarluri, Weera, Wiramaya, Wirameju (‘wira’ = gum tree, ‘meju’ = men, lit. gum forest men), Wirameyu, Werra, Wirra, Wirra-maya, Wirramayo, Wirrameyu, Yilrea, Youngye (name of language).


The above map is based upon the Horton Indigenous Map of Australia © Aboriginal Studies Press, AIATSIS, and Auslig/Sinclair, Knight, Merz, 1996. The full map is available on the AIATSIS website. The locations of the languages of SA, as stated on the this website are not intended for Land Claim use, and are an approximate guide only. Individual language project locations are based on information from publicly available MILR (ILS) documents.