Bodaruwitj country is in the south east of the state reaching to the Victorian border, including the towns of Bordertown and Keith.
The Bodaruwitj language lies north of the Bunganditj language, and inland from the Maintangk and Tanganikald languages (of the Ngarrindjeri language group).

AIATSIS id : S.15


Bedaruwidj (used by AITSIS), Bindjali, Bodaruwidj, Bunyalli, Cangarabaluk, Coolucooluk (group name), Dadiera, Djadjala, Jaran (language name), Kangara-balak (of the Tanganekald, [‘kangara] = east, [‘balak] = people), Padtha-way tribe, Polenjunga, Polin-junga (group name), Potangola (alternative term), Potaruwutj, Potaruwutji, Tatiara (a place name, also a group), Tatiarra, Tattayarra, Tyattyalla, Tyattyalli, Tyatyalli, Tyedduwurrung, Tyeddyuwurru, Wepul-prap (Tanganekald term, means ‘southern people’), Wereka (wereka = no), Wereka-tyalli, Werekarait, Wergaia, Wimmera, Wirigirek (a northern group; Wirrega, a place name), Woychibirik, Wra-gar-ite, Yaran.


The above map is based upon the Horton Indigenous Map of Australia © Aboriginal Studies Press, AIATSIS, and Auslig/Sinclair, Knight, Merz, 1996. The full map is available on the AIATSIS website. The locations of the languages of SA, as stated on the this website are not intended for Land Claim use, and are an approximate guide only. Individual language project locations are based on information from publicly available MILR (ILS) documents.